Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees

Regular Meetings

  • 4:00 PM
  • 3rd Monday each month
  • Ann Henry Board Room of the Fayetteville Public Library

The Fayetteville Library was established in June of 1916. On Tuesday, July 27, 1959 the City Council voted to take over the operation of the Library and establish the Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees as required by state statutes. The board term end dates were amended by Ordinance 2324, on April 5, 1977.

The purpose of the Board of Trustees is to provide leadership in performing the mission of the Library; to serve as a liaison between the Library and the City; and to ensure the Library meets the informational, educational, and recreational needs of the community.

The Library Board is responsible for Library funds, construction, and maintenance of any Library building, policies and planning, and the appointment of the Library Director. Title 13 of the Arkansas Code Annotated governs the establishment and maintenance of public libraries in cities of the first class.


Board members serve staggered, five-year terms, ending April 1 with no term limits.


The Board shall be composed of five to seven members from the public-at-large.


Vacancies on the Board shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City with the approval of the City Council. Trustees may be removed if absent from four consecutive meetings of the board without due explanation.

Public Notifications

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the Office of the City Clerk Treasurer; it is distributed to the press and posted online.


  • Hershey Garner

    3390 East Mission Boulevard
    Fayetteville, AR 72703
    04/01/14 thru 04/01/19
  • Janine A. Parry
    Vice President
    116 East Maple Street
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    10/01/14 thru 04/01/18
  • Maylon Rice

    PO Box 3810
    Fayetteville, AR 72702
    04/01/10 thru 04/01/20
  • Bret Park
    1636 West Maple Street
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    04/01/17 thru 04/01/22

  • Suzanne Clark
    438 East Fairway Lane
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    04/01/09 thru 04/01/18
  • Bryn Bagwell
    2042 Buckley
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    04/01/17 thru 04/01/22
  • Rob Qualls
    2140 East Jonquil Road
    Fayetteville, AR 72703
    01/03/17 thru 04/01/21